What’s in a question???

I was reading through the course content this morning – specifically Learning Experiences 4.3 -I came across this link What makes a question essential?

Whilst my mind is working overtime to pinpoint exactly what it is that I will use for my unit plan, this link proved very helpful as it directed me to ask myself – what’s in a question?

I am planning to use science and really trying to think of how I can incorporate ICT to effectively engage students in scientific inquiry, so the book Essential Questions by Jay McTighe and Grant Wiggins suggest I ask questions like:

  • What makes objects move the way they do?
  • How are structure and function related in living things?
  • Is aging a disease?
  • Why and how do scientific theories change?
  • How can we best measure what we cannot directly see?
  • How do we decide what to believe about a scientific claim?

So, now that I have these questions, I now need to try to find ICT that will fit the bill.  Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

