What does it matter about ICT if you don’t have great Behaviour Management?

So, first lesson was quite the experience.  I had the PowerPoint ready for use on the Interactive White Board, thought I was quite savvy in my presentation – and so did my mentor because she gave me a ‘very good’ for preparation – was chuffed with that.

However, what’s the point in teaching kids if they’re not engaged in learning?  I had them in the palm of my hand to begin with, then had them once again in the palm of my hand while using MAB blocks to add, then it all kind of turned a little bit sour.  Kids lost focus, I had difficulty pulling it all back together again, but I eventually got there.

I have worked one thing out today, and that’s how to make kids listen.  One particularly charming child decided to spit on the floor – yes – spit on the floor.  But it wasn’t just a simple spit, it was a long slow spit like the one from the very old movie Flatliners with Julia Roberts.  Yuk.  Anyhoooo, I pulled out the ‘Mummy voice’, and I tell ya, this little fella who does not listen to anyone – like eva – listened to me and cleaned it up immaculately.  My mentor and I later had a giggle about it all, albeit a bit grossed out.

So, apparently that’s the voice I need to harness when it all turns bad – scary Mumma Bear.

3 thoughts on “What does it matter about ICT if you don’t have great Behaviour Management?

Leave a Reply

